top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

The Best Way To Get Seedlings Started This Spring

This year we moved back to our country house after living the big city life for 4 years. One of our goals is to live a self sufficient and sustaining life, so that means we've gotta get our garden on!


I'm usually a go-big-or-go-home kind of girl so naturally I bought 100$ worth of organic, local zone 5 seeds to plant and grow this year. I wanted to have a rich variety of foods since it already feels like we're giving up a lot of other things, including meat. I figured we may as well try a bunch and see what happens!


I'm also a natural, maybe borderline OCD when it comes to planning. So I made plans for a few gardens beds this year. Some of them were there before us, and we'll be digging up new ones too. This is my first year as a serious gardener so I really don't know what to expect. It's quite possible that I might overwhelm myself. I'm sure I'll write a post about the experience.


When To Get Your Seeds Started


So we started the first seedlings last week of February (that's a bit early, but I wanted a couple weeks head start in case I mess up lol) and I've been planting new seeds every week since then. We first started off with kitchen herbs, then the seeds that we can start indoors up to 10 weeks before the last spring frost. This year, if you look at the Old Farmers Almanac (which is apparently some predictor farmers use for their crops to feed the world) the last predicted frost date for Brockville is April 29th 2020. From that date, count back your weeks and that's when you'll know when it's a good time to begin your seeds.


So yeah, I started a few. Something that I didn't consider before is how you sew your seeds, the germination, as well as the growth rate. It's very important to read the conditions in which the seeds will need (some need more darkness than light, more depth, more moisture, etc.). Some need to be placed just on top of the soil rather than buried, and some grow at lightning speed. So after a few tries, this is what I found to be the best method (all these items can be purchased at the dollar store too).


Supplies & Steps


  • Get your seedling tray and fill it halfway with moist soil

  • Cut the cardboard seedling starters to separate them (this will be handy when the seedlings grow at different rates)

  • Start sewing your seeds as per their unique instructions (and keep an eye what seeds your sewing where so you don't forget!)

  • Spray your seedling trays frequently so they stay moist and cover with the clear plastic lid

  • Wait for them to grow!


The Best Way To Label or Identify Your Seeds in Your Tray


Now I know you probably want to buy super cute labeling stakes for your seedlings - it's not quite time for that yet, and honestly, they'll be a pain in your ass. What I suggest if your using many different seeds in one tray is to label one side to distinguish the front and the back, and from left to right. I personally just used 2 different color stickers.


At this point, you want to write down the names of the plants and where you planted them. I drew a chart on a scrap piece of paper, identified the front, and wrote it all down. By doing this, you can also write down when each one sprouts, so next time you'll know what grows easy and fast, and what doesn't!


Obviously, when the seedlings reach pretty high up, close enough to the top lid of the tray, or if you notice they're not growing much anymore, then it's time to take them out for a while before transplanting.


One Last Tip!


One thing to note, not all your seeds will germinate. I've noticed that even if I sew a few of the same seeds, not all of them will sprout. This could be many things, but my rule of thumb is if it hasn't sprouted in 2 weeks (unless stated otherwise on the seed package) then I'm assuming it won't sprout.


Who else is trying out gardening for the first time this year? What are your goals? How are you getting started?


Let's share so everyone's garden can benefit!


Happy Digging :)

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page