top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

Reducing Electricity Costs

How do you reduce your energy consumption in a very digital world? The answer is, not easy. Not easy at all.


Of course, it all depends what you do for a living, and where you live, for this to make any meaningful impact on you.


After living from suburban life, to large cities, to rural areas, I can confidently tell you that they each have their own advantages and disadvantages. It just depends on what you're willing to work for and sacrifice.


My husband and I moved to the country for the peace, the nature, the land, and just about realizing the fortune of this acre under our nose. This realization came about when we were stuck living in a cockroach infested high-rise with our dogs, and the only outdoor space was the 4 x 8 balcony overlooking the parking lot. Those times will make great stories for the kiddos, lol.



Moving to the small town of Brockville meant a massive decrease of most bills, but not hydro (Ontario’s largest electricity transmission and distribution service provider) - no no. This bill quickly became my worst nightmare.


I remember paying 25-50$/month for Enercare electricity in the Toronto apartment.


In the country, I pay 100$/month just to HAVE electricity run to the house. It’s considered country, but I still live within the township, just steps away from the downtown strip - there's no fields of hay or tumble weeds if that's what you're thinking. Our average bill (pre-covid) hung around 350-400$/month for TWO PEOPLE. With the province discount, it's been more like 250$/month now, but I know this will creep up again eventually...


Because of this insanity, my good friend told me about the HydroOne Affordability Fund. I applied to see what it's all about and if I could get some help - because I needed ALL the help I could get. Turns out, depending on your situation, you could be eligible for FREE APPLIANCE UPGRADES. - yup, you read that correctly. I thought it was too good to be true too. **As I was getting the website to link to this post, there is an announcement that this program is going to stop accepting applications as of July 31st 2020! CHECK THE WEBSITE BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE**



The other day I received the first package of 3. The first package was the Home Energy Kit - which actually comes with a bunch of neat and totally efficient gizmos that I would have never thought about. It came with 3 packs of LEDs, a filter whistle, outlet/switch insulation seals, weather stripping, a thermometer, retractable clothelines and a power bar. Package 2 and 3 are supposed to be a brand new washer and fridge! Whaaaaaaat!


However, in the spirit of being totally honest and transparent, let me share a bit of the process from beginning to now.


  • I first applied in July or August 2019.

  • Received my “home assessment” virtually in May 2020

  • Received my Home Energy Kit in July 2020

  • Currently awaiting EnergyStar Washer and Fridge


All I know at the moment is that we're eligible for these appliances and a "third party" who doesn't have a name, is supposed to contact me to let me know when they will arrive, so I can be prepared and have the old appliances ready for the switch. It's been crickets for 8 weeks since I received the news, and I have a feeling people are just going to show up at my door without much of a warning. Regardless, if this delivery actually happens (because I'm still a bit skeptical until it's actually here in the flesh) I will be beyond thankful. So if my story is resonating with you, go online NOW and check it out before the government shuts it down!


There's still a bunch of grown up upgrades and expenses that I need to do to help reduce this bill more and more. Like new windows - I can literally feel the cold draft coming through in the winter, so yeah, I’m that person who put up plastic wrap on the windows to save energy costs.


And yes - it feels weird shopping for windows instead of fun stuff, like clothes, electronics and vacations.


I guess this is growing up.


Hope you found this information useful to you! All the best in reducing your energy bills!


PS


If you have some tips of your own to help decrease some bills, please share them!!! I'm always looking for more ways to save!


- Liv


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page