top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

Top 3 Mistakes Growing Lettuce & 3 Fail-Proof Varieties

Hello again! 👋 This week #ontheblog I want to share my first experience growing lettuce varieties in zone 6a. If you're trying to cut down your grocery bill by growing your own food then this is for you! I'm learning pretty quickly their ideal growing conditions, how to get more out of them and when to harvest.


But this has definitely not gone without it’s struggles.


All my lettuces have been planted since early April, and they’ve grown so big out in the open in the garden. I must admit though, as much as I’d like to think that I did everything fine, I’ve come across a few bumps in the road.


My Top 3 Mistakes Growing Lettuce:

  • Overcrowding

  • Bolting

  • Overheating

Overcrowding happened because I planted a lot of seeds close together, and sometimes even started them in pots. I also did not thin my little seedlings as they started. I honestly didn’t really understand why I would want to purposely remove little plants that I worked so hard to grow! But I assure you, there is a good reason why this is important. Thinning seedlings occurs when a lot of seeds have been planted and we must trim out the smaller ones and space them far enough in between each other. This allows a guaranteed crop, but it also sadly leaves a lot of room to terminate good seeds and sprouts. This is why I’m a believer of a few seeds in a little pot of seed starter and transplant in the garden later.


Bolting is the end of the plant cycle, when it flowers and goes to seed. This process can be slowed down, depending on harvesting techniques. If we harvest the goods of the plant in a staggered manner, bits a day or every other day, the plant will likely think that it needs to continue to produce. But if all the fruits are sitting on the plant for a while, the plant will think it’s done it’s job and just focus on the ones present. Usually that will be the only fruits that plant will produce in its life cycle. So, with a slow and steady pick, the plant should be able to give you more harvest!


Overheating happens when it’s not really the time of year for this variety of plants. Have you read about cool and warm temperature crops? Well, lettuce likes it cool. So in the middle of the summer, a very sunny spot is not what these guys like. If you’re planting this in the fall though, a sunny spot should be fine. Regardless, adjusting the watering based on their location is usually a good fix. I would see mine wilt during the day, and a good watering at night picked them right back up again.


Another interesting tip to know when to plant, or not plant, some seeds. I started some small herbs in early June and they started really great! But now with the intense heat of July, I’ve noticed the seedlings have turned lush green to light green and almost yellow in some areas. Noooo! What could of happened? It’s too hot is what happened!


Overall, the lettuce growing experience has been rewarding.


I thought it might be useful to bring some insight based on my learnings to other newby gardeners out there. I like to eat plenty of salads, so lettuce was a big ticket item this year. I've managed to grow 6 different varieties, and 4 of them have grown really, really well! 😄🎉

  • Paris Island Romaine (in a mostly shaded spot, really picked up in June)

  • Blue Kale (in a mostly shaded spot, really picked up in May)

  • Triple Purple Orach Spinach (doing well in a sunny spot, and in hot summer heat)

  • Green Spinach (shortest life cycle, does NOT tolerate heat at all. It will go right to flower and seed)

  • Arugula (semi shaded and sunny spot. Did better in semi-shaded, grew really well and picked up in May and June)

  • Swiss Chard (this hasn't been growing well, in mostly shaded spot)

The easiest greens that a beginner is able to grow (in my opinion) is blue kale, purple spinach, and arugula. I could probably grow these three with my eyes closed. They required very little maintenance, and still grew a lot of leaves despite my lack of regular harvesting!


(Harvesting with my boy Bus)

(that's short for Buster)



While I’m learning all of these new skills and information, I'm also thinking of some other spots in the garden that get more shade for continuous growth during the entire season 😎. I will have to wait for next year to test these skills out!


How's your lettuce lookin? What skills are you learning and what will you do differently next year?


Happy growing, friends!


Liv


21 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page