top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

Reese’s Pieces Chocolate Chip Cookies

I must give full credit to my husband for the birth of these cookies, who kindly asked for them one day when he was high. He was pretty excited about this invention and so off to BulkBarn we went to get the ingredients. I’ve also made an oatmeal cookie iteration, which I personally prefer. I find it more filling (and an easier excuse to eat for breakfast ;) ).


The premise to this recipe is over at sallysbakingaddiction.com where she makes Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. It’s pretty much the same thing minus the Reese’s Pieces.


INGREDIENTS

  • 1 ½ cups all purpose flour

  • 1 tsp baking powder

  • 1 tsp baking soda

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

  • 1 cup granulated sugar

  • ½ cup packed light or dark brown sugar

  • 2 large eggs

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter

  • 2 tsps pur vanilla extract

  • 2 cups rolled oats Optional

  • 1 ½ cups chocolate chips

  • 1 ½ cups Reese’s pieces small candy size (smaller than a Smarties)



DIRECTIONS

1. Mix everything in your stand mixer

2. Scoop into balls Choose rolling method below

3. Freeze Optional

4. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until golden brown


How easy is that??


I used to follow cookie recipes to the tee - mixing dry ingredients together and same with the wet, then mixing together. But then, my husband showed me that you can actually just mix everything together and it will be just fine. Whaaaaat? I told you, he deserves some serious credit for this recipe! I had no idea that baking would allow such flexibility! So, this is how I make it, and this is also how I’m sharing it as well. Sally’s Baking Addiction has her own way in making it, as do I.


I think this recipe is pretty versatile, depending on the kind of cookie you like. Do you like a thin, crispier cookie or a thick and cakey one? Do you prefer a crumblier dough with peeks or a smooth, oily finish? These factors all come into the way you prepare the dough balls and how they’re baked - in my opinion.


Cooking Dough Rolling Techniques


Thick, cakey cookie

Scoop the dough into balls and onto a parchment sheet and let them freeze for at least 4 hours. This will prevent them from melting away from the oiliness of the peanut butter.


Thin, crunchy cookie

Scoop the balls onto a parchment sheet and put in the oven at 350F for about 20 minutes or so, depending how golden you like them.


Smooth cookie surface

Roll the dough balls between your palms so they become nice and smooth. This will help create a silky and flat cookie.


Crumbly and textured cookies surface

Scoop the dough balls roughly into balls. Do not overwork as the key is to manipulate as little as possible and let it be uneven and textured. This will give the appearance of a thicker cookie with peeks and won’t melt down so much.


If you’re adding the oatmeal, it will add even more texture and thickness to the cookies. Personally, I think that’s what makes them so delicious and filling!


Hope you enjoy this recipe, and let me know how this dish inspired your next creation!


Liv


17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page