top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

Versatile Pizza Dough Batch

The original recipe that gave my recipe inspiration can be found over at Cake Whiz. I followed the recipe as instructed and it was actually the most simplistic recipe I could find on Pinterest. It was a bit confusing to read though, I think it’s just a language barrier - which gives me the impression the creator is authentic! I also really appreciate the time and energy it took this lovely individual to detail out the differences in the flour you use and how that will change the crust ever so slightly. It’s all about the details!!


Anyway... It’s causing me quite the pain to go back to my pins, find the recipe and painfully follow it. So here I am, typing away as I await for our delicious pizza to cook.


This is their recipe, I’ve just reworded it for clarity and fast reading.


INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups Warm water

  • 1 tbsp Active dry yeast

  • 1 tbsp Granulated sugar

  • 5 cups All-Purpose flour Divided in half

  • 2 tbsp Olive oil

  • 1 tbsp Salt

  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning Optional

  • 1 tsp basil seasonal Optional

  • 1/2 tsp Garlic powder Optional


DIRECTIONS:

  1. Dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water and let it bubble and foam.

  2. Add flour, yeast mixture, salt and other seasonings in a large bowel. Mix until smooth.

  3. Leave the ball of dough in a greased mixing bowl and cover with a towel. Let it rise for 1 or 2 hours (since this is for a large batch).

  4. Divide the dough into 4-8 balls, depending on the size of the risen dough. If sticky when rolling, add a pinch of flour.

  5. To freeze, place a ball of dough in saran wrap then place in a freezer friendly container or bag. When preparing for use, remove from freezer and let thaw in fridge overnight, or on the counter for a few hours. The recipe states it’s good in the freezer for 1 month. Mine was in there for 2 and it tasted the same!

  6. Once thawed, add a very thin layer of oil to the pizza pan and roll out the dough. Add toppings, cheese, and bake on 375F until golden (about 20 minutes, depending on crust thickness)





In my latest pizza dough batch, I totally forgot about adding a pinch of flour to roll the dough smooth and soft. Because of that mistake, I will have to painfully deal with sticky dough removing from saran wrap. Adding the pinch of flour will make it easy to remove from the packaging, and create a lovely dough like the one above.


The thing I love the most about this recipe is the endless variety and the fact that it can be made in bulk. Anything that I can make ahead of time and store in the freezer is a A+ in my books.


Let me know the combinations you come up with when you give this a try!


-Liv

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page