top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

Roasted & Salted Almonds

Rummaging through the back of the pantry I remembered that I had some raw almonds. I had no idea what to do with them. They arrived in my pantry by mistake one weekend, when I had ordered my groceries online. They didn’t have roasted salted almonds that day, so they replaced it with raw almonds. Ummm…not at all the same!


I hate wasting, so I decided to search if someone had tried to make roasted almonds in a regular kitchen oven before. Turns out An Oregon Cottage had, I tried their recipe and put my own twist to it. My roasted almonds turned out pretty good!




The secret they share to make the salted almonds…..


Dilute salt in warm water, then pour over the almonds.


The rest is pretty much how you would expect it.


DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat your oven to 250F. Nuts roast better on a low temperature for a longer period of time.

  2. Dilute 1 tbsp of kosher salt in 1 cup of warm water.

  3. Prepare your baking sheet with a liner or parchment paper

  4. Pour the warm salty water over the almonds and mix until fully covered. Pour everything, even the salt that didn’t dilute fully.

  5. Spread the almonds into a single layer onto the baking sheet.

  6. Cook in the oven for 15-20 minutes, depending on the strength of your oven. Make sure to open and stir the almonds every 5 minutes or so. The almonds should smell nice and toasty and be a golden brown when sliced.

  7. When the almonds are done, pour 1 tbsp of olive oil and sprinkle Himalayan salt over the almonds and stir it together. Let them sit until cool.


These aren’t as salty as you’d expect. I thought it was going to be wildly salty with the kosher salt, but it was nicely balanced with the toastiness.


Knowing what I eat helps me reduce how much I snack on at a time. 😄 usually a handful or two does the trick!


Enjoy!

8 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page