top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

Patch Growing

Updated: Apr 13, 2020

As you may know by now, this is my first year as a gardener and I've been trying out different start-from-seed methods. In a previous post I wrote about why it's easier to cut the seed starters. This time, I decided to omit my own advice. But for good reason!



I'm aiming to grow many of the same plant and then eventually plant them in patches. Last time, I was planting different herbs and vegetables which all grew very differently. These should grow at similar rates. (đŸ€ž)


My seed starters can hold up to 12 seedlings, and when I ran out I used good ol' egg cartons. I filled them with moistened potting soil and planted the same seeds /similar growing conditions within the same seed starter trays (the black trays holding the cardboard seed starters). That way it'll be easier when it comes to transplanting them, hopefully. This is my game plan after all...




Since this is my first year planting these seeds, I'm still getting to know them. AKA knowing how fast they sprout - I think this will be a key learning experience for next year. My hope is that I'll be able to place fast growing seeds all together and same goes for the slower ones. Did someone say documentation required? đŸ™‹â€â™€ïž ă€‹đŸ‘©â€đŸ’»


With this patch growing experience, I'm also beginning to understand the difference between cardboard seed starters, and reusable plastic ones. Now I understand there's a purpose and time for each. A post to come about that learning experience in the future!


On a last slightly irrelevant note, I didn't know until now that lettuce does well in cool temperatures. Hello Canadians!!! So I'm going to attempt to grow this as much and as long as possible. Maybe even get some micro-greens going! Keep an eye out 😄



Have a Happy Good Friday! 🐰🐣


5 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page