top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin Domain

How to Fix Leggy Seedlings



As the amateur and giddy gardener I am, I started some seeds early. Like really early. I started a good batch the last week of February and planted again a few other times. I just thought to myself, if I have a heating pad, soil, and light, I can make this work!


Not quite. Now I know why it’s better (and easier) just to wait for Spring to come.


Really what it comes down to, in my experience anyway, is the light (mostly, but it’s also a combination of things). Starting seeds inside is easy because we can control much of the environment, like temperature, soil moisture and protection.


But turns out that when you decide to start your seeds early and make them think that it’s Spring by placing a heating pad under them, you’ll end up with a problem called leggy seedlings. This happens when your baby seedlings are growing and reaching for sunlight, so much so that they become tall, weak and skinny.

Like this:

Fortunately though, there’s a way to fix this!


All you need is the following:

  • 2-4’’ pots

  • Potting soil

  • A pencil

  • Spray bottle with water



With a new pot filled with soil, use your pencil and poke a hole in it. Poke for every seedling your planting.


Spray the hole with water. This will give the roots some water right as you transplant, rather than watering it afterwards, which can be heavy on the leaves and weigh it down. I sprayed before and after, and was just careful not to get the leaves too much.


Transplanting the longer stem in the ground also helps to train the plant to thicken, making it sturdier when you’re ready to transplant it outside and into the garden.


After about a week, you’ll be able to tell which plants will make it through. You might lose a few in the process, either from breaking the root when pinching it out, or not give them enough water/light after transplanting.



After a few days, I had to douse the plants, rather than spraying them. The soil would not stay moist enough from just the spray bottle alone. As long as the soil stays moist, and they get some sunlight (but not too much intense heat) then they’ll be happy.


Honestly your best bet is to place them right up against a window that gets good light. I don't have many options, so my tables around the house are being used for this purpose. They'll be out of commission for a few weeks!


Here's a quick video of the entire process!




Best of luck!


- Olivia


7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page